> VAC Dinner and Awards Evening 2022

VAC Dinner and Awards Evening 2022

This was held at the Aviator Hotel, Sywell, on Saturday 19th November 2022

We are pleased to tell you that we celebrated the achievements of our award winners at The Aviator, Sywell, on Saturday evening, enjoying an excellent meal and hearing an inspiring speech by our guest speaker Patricia Mawuli Porter. Thank you to Patricia who, with help from daughter Gwen, then presented the awards. Prize winners are listed below and congratulations to all. We were also pleased to thank Peter and Christine Wright for the months of hard work and negotiations they put into organising the evening for us and to Stuart MacConnacher our trophy steward. Thanks to all of you who attended, it was a joy to see you all. Among our attendees was Lady Judy McAlpine who has invited us back to Fawley Hill Museum and Steam Railway for a special open day in April. Thanks again to everyone who attended the dinner and to the Aviator for looking after us. On the Sunday Sywell Aviation Museum opened its doors to the VAC in the morning and we were privileged to enjoy a private visit with thanks to Ben Brown.

Vintage Aircraft Club Awards 2022

George Davidson Cup - for outstanding achievement or contribution to vintage light aviation - to Desmond Penrose
Desmond Penrose Silver Salver - vintage aeroplane of the year - to Ian Gee for Waterbird
Dennis Fry Cup - VAC pilot for consistently good airmanship - to Ian Atherton
John Blake Rosebowl - for a vintage aircraft restoration project - to Matthew Boddington - for Slingsby SESa (replica)
Ernie Lingard Trophy - to a VAC committee member for particular service to the Club - to Wendy Hinchcliffe
Graham England Trophy - for a young person's involvement in aviation - to James Shenton
Allen Clewley Trophy - for photography, writing, artistic ability - to Ben Dunnell
Mo Thompson Trophy - for meritorious aviation achievement - to David Beale
John Edwards Trophy - for noteworthy contributions to airfield organisation or flight safety - to Mike Pearson
Liz Inwood Trophy - at committee's discretion for person giving most support to the Club - to Ron and Valery Gammons
Pietenpol Prop - for vintage engineering support - to Sam Tomline
VAC Group Trophy - best group or syndicate - to Bruce Buglass for SleapTaylor Mono Group

2018 VAC Dinner and Awards Evening Here.
2019 VAC Dinner and Awards Evening Here.
2021 VAC Dinner and Awards Evening Here.
2023 VAC Dinner and Awards Evening Here.

VAC Dinner and Awards Evening 2022 Photographs

Vintage Aircraft Club

VAC Logo

Contact | Links

Web-site and contents © 2005 - 2023

The Vintage Aircraft Club.

Address: c/o Light Aircraft Association, Turweston Aerodrome, Nr Brackley, Northants. NN13 5YD

Website designed & maintained by Thirdrock Design Studios Ltd.